Henry Fawcett stands for Parliament in Cambridge Borough. 1863.

Five years before he married suffragist hero Millicent Garrett Fawcett, the multi-talented Henry Fawcett, who would go onto become one of the most influential politicians of the 1800s, stood unsuccessfully for Parliament in Cambridge.

IMG_6953

Above – Henry Fawcett in 1855, from Leslie Stephen’s biography of 1885.

We missed out on the chance of having this great man being our MP. But town politics was toxic in those days, and he would eventually represent Brighton. This is his first published election address in the newspapers, transcribed from the British Newspaper Archive.

630207 Henry Fawcett newspaper advert 1863

 

TO THE ELECTORS

OF THE 

BOROUGH OF CAMBRIDGE

“Gentlemen,

“I have just heard that Colonel Adair has definitely decided to retire; I therefore have no hesitation in at once seeking the honor of representing you in Parliament. While Colonel Adair was in the field, I studiously forbore from taking any part in the present Election, because I feared that candidature might create disunion in the Liberal party.

“I will proceed to state my political opinions as briefly and frankly I can. I shall give an independent support to Lord Palmerston. Some minor measures of his Administration I may object to, but I hope he may continue in power long as his health is preserved, because I believe no other Prime Minister could more effectually maintain the honor, and secure the welfare of England a difficult crisis of Foreign Politics. I should moreover be induced to support the present Administration, because I believe the best interests of England would suffer if Earl Russell were displaced at the Foreign Office.

“The present National Expenditure is no doubt excessive, and strict economy ought enforced upon the Government. I believe an independent member can most effectually secure economy by zealously watching the Estimates; this part of my Parliamentary duties I will promise faithfully to discharge.

“As a sincere Member of the Church of England, I could support no measure which believe would prove antagonistic to the Church. I think, however, that the continuance of Church Rates perpetuates discord, which is detrimental to the cause of Religion. I would therefore cordially support any plan which would settle the dispute. If, however, compromise is impossible, I should unhesitatingly vote for the abolition of Church Rates.

“I consider that people of all religious opinions ought to be placed on an equality with regard to civil and educational privileges. I will therefore continue to support, and I promise to advocate in the House of Commons, the removal the restrictions which exclude all but those who are Members of the Church of England from Fellowships.

“The Lancashire Operatives have borne their distress with a fortitude and with a calm resignation which has won the admiration of all. I think therefore that the experience which we have derived from the Lancashire distress, provides unanswerable argument in favour of admitting the more intelligent of the working classes the suffrage.

When the question of Reform is again considered, I think that many amendments in our system of Representation may with advantage be introduced; but upon these points I will speak to you in detail, when I have an opportunity of addressing you.

“The physical infirmity under which I labour, [Mr Fawcett was blinded in a shooting accident] may, in the opinion of some, disqualify me from adequately discharging the duties of a Member of Parliament. I would not, however, presume to offer myself to any Constituency, had I not previously sought the advice of some of the most experienced Members of the House of Commons; they unanimously assure me That I may become an efficient Member of Parliament, and Constituents may feel certain, that as I am debarred from professional avocations, I shall be able to give my whole time and attention to Parliamentary duties.

“I shall at once proceed to address a series of Public Meetings, and in the meantime,

I beg to remain,

Gentlemen,

Your obedient Servant,

HENRY FAWCETT.

Trinity Hall, Cambridge, January 28, 1863.”

IMG_6952

Above – Henry Fawcett in 1884, just before his death at the untimely age of 51, from Leslie Stephen’s biography of 1885.

630214 Fawcett poll result Cambridge 1863 loss

Mr Fawcett did not win this election contest which in any case was fought on a very limited franchise. In fact, frighteningly so.

“In 1866, all voters had to be male adults over 21 years of age. The right to vote was still based upon a property qualification.

By the early 1860s around 1.43 million could vote out of a total population of 30 million.

In 1867, the Conservative government introduced the Parliamentary Reform Act. This increased the electorate to almost 2.5 million.” (BBC Bitesize)

It wouldn’t be until 1918 that all male adults would get the vote, and not until 1928 that men and women had equal voting rights – universal suffrage. The data in the table here makes for interesting comparisons as to who got universal male suffrage, universal female suffrage, and the removal of discrimination against different ethnicities from voting. The struggle for the right to vote was a long and hard fought one.

The person who won that election contest was Sir Francis Powell. Conveniently, the same newspaper column contains his election address, which reads as follows:

TO THE ELECTORS OF THE BOROUGH OF CAMBRIDGE.

“Gentlemen,—

“The resignation of Mr. Steuart calls you to exercise your privileges as Electors. An influential deputation has requested me to become Candidate for your Suffrages. I therefore place services at your command.

“Having had the honour of a Seat in Parliament for an important Borough, I have had some experience of Parliamentary life.

“If returned to Parliament, I shall be found in the ranks of the Conservative Party. I shall ever maintain the Institutions of the country, while anxious to support with hearty sincerity all such adaptations to the events of the age, as changed circumstances, or the advance of economic or political science may from time to time demand.

“The devastation of the North American Continent, by citizens of the Great American Commonwealth, must excite the deepest sorrow all who desire the progress of our race. I am convinced that Non-intervention (at the present crisis, least) the only policy which this country can pursue.

“Meanwhile, it is gratifying to observe the noble bearing of the Lancashire Operatives, and the benefactions which have been contributed to their relief. Hence has sprung union and sympathy among all classes which has not been hitherto seen in England, and which will, doubtless, produce highly beneficial results.

“As one who has been long interested in the education of the people, I witnessed with much regret the danger which threatened that important cause from the introduction of the Revised Code. I rejoice that unanimity of opinion and concerted action among all who had practical knowledge of the subject, compelled the adoption of important modification in the Government measure. 

“Whether in private or public life, I shall at all times cooperate with those who promote schemes to extend the blessings of sound moral and religious instructions throughout the country. I trust that the designs of those who endeavour to weaken and destroy the Church of England will continue to fail, and desire of fresh entrance upon Parliamentary life is much increased by the prospect of thus obtaining enlarged opportunities of upholding the Church.

“I shall forthwith visit Cambridge, and do myself the honour of personally visiting you, and of otherwise enunciating my opinions in detail. Meanwhile in these brief limits I explain the general principles on which I am prepared to act. As member of the University, I am not a stranger, at Cambridge; and as having command of abundant leisure, I shall, if returned, be prepared at all times to serve you.

I have the honour to be, Gentlemen,

Your obedient Servant,

FRANCIS S. POWELL.

1, Cambridge Square, Hyde Park, London; 26th January, 1863.”

 


Leave a comment